First Day Charm

July 3, 2010 at 11:58 pm Leave a comment

Today was the first day of the market. There was a little confusion with the DOT and the City for how to block off the street, but that was resolved after the Mayor came down to spend some time checking out our market.

If you came, you saw 13 vendors, a smaller group, but a good group. On my partner and my limited budget, we managed to be entertained and come home with some nice stuff. I think we had $25 collectively between the two of us. I had a hot link and Elizabeth had a Field Roast dog from Mama Juanita’s. Good stuff with all the fixin’s.

I got a birthday gift for my best friends 1 year old. It’s the cutest little handmade stuffed octypus made from a recycled striped sweater. I think Colleen said her daughter designed them and she sewed them. It is super soft and adorable.

From Jose, of course, we bought organic broccoli and fresh cilantro. We bought some limes, onions and freshly made tamales from Maria to take home.

There was Tupperware for sale, so we got a couple items out of the discount bin, jewelry, rosaries, flea market stuff, clothes, cowboy boots, and more.

I can’t forget Alex, who is the guy to see for insurance, tax help and immigration assistance.

Mix all that with lots of good neighbors, laughter, cute dogs fun kids and it was a good day in the hood. On the walk back home, a neighbor gives us kale, lettuce, carrots and onions from her organic garden.

The South Park Market on Wheels is the most laid back friendly market I’ve ever been to. I caught the tail end of some good music. Wished I had gotten their earlier.

All in all, it was a quiet day, an intimate crowd, but fun for those who came. Hope we see you next time on July 17th.

Entry filed under: music, Products, Uncategorized, Vendors. Tags: , .

Set-up Starts at 9am / 14th & Cloverdale Stay Tuned for a Possible Location Change or not

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts